17 May 21 | News LISER & University of Luxembourg - Esch-Belval, Luxembourg
9-10 September 2021

14th International Conference on Migration And Development

In partnership with the French Development Agency (AFD), the World Bank Development Research Group (DECRG), the University of Luxembourg & LISER


The French Development Agency (AFD) Research Department, the World Bank Development Research Group (DECRG), the Luxembourg Institute for Socio-Economic Research (LISER) and the Department of Economics and Management at the University of Luxembourg are jointly organizing the 14th International Conference on “Migration and Development”. The conference is devoted to investigating ways in which international migration affects economic and social change in developing countries. Possible topics include the effects of migration on poverty, inequality, and human capital formation; social networks and migration; migration and globalization; remittances; brain drain; migration and institutional/technological/demographic change in sending countries, today and in the past. The conference will try to maximize in-person attendance. We will also have online participation availability. Of course, all of these plans are subject to the travel possibilities and restrictions at the time.

A selection of papers from the conference will be considered for a special issue of European Economic Review Plus.

Keynote Speakers

  • Patricia Cortes (Boston University)
  • Marta Reynal-Querol (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
  • Mathias Thoenig (Université de Lausanne)

Submission of full Papers

Submission guidelines and timetable

Submissions of full papers (pdf file name should begin with submitting author last name) are expected by June 15, 2021. Submissions should be sent via the online form. Decisions will be communicated by July 15, 2021. Travel (economy class) and accommodation in Luxembourg for up to three nights will be covered.

Organizing Committee

Michel Beine (University of Luxembourg), Arnaud Dupuy (University of Luxembourg), Frédéric Docquier (LISER), Joel Machado (LISER), Thomas Mélonio (AFD), Çağlar Özden (World Bank), Serge Rabier (AFD), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics)

Scientific Committee

Chair -- Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics); Ran Abramitzky (Stanford), Sam Bazzi (UC San Diego), Michel Beine (Luxembourg), Simone Bertoli (CERDI), Michael Clemens (CGD), Patricia Cortes (Boston U), Frédéric Docquier (LISER), Giovanni Facchini (Nottingham), Paola Giuliano (UCLA), William Kerr (Harvard Business School), Anna Maria Mayda (Georgetown), David McKenzie (World Bank), Stelios Michalopoulos (Brown), Melanie Morten (Stanford), Çağlar Özden (World Bank), Dean Yang (University of Michigan).